Get A CSCS Red Card

Getting a Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) Red Card can be an excellent choice for you if you’re new to the construction industry or in the process of upgrading your skills. The CSCS Red Card denotes you as a trainee, apprentice, or experienced worker who is on a journey of continuous learning and improvement. 
The skilled CSCS Card serves as proof of your competence in health and safety measures, which can increase your credibility in the industry and potentially open up more job opportunities.
Book CITB Test

Booking Your CITB Test

The first step to obtaining any type of CSCS Red Card is to book your CITB Test. The test you’ll need to take varies depending on the specific Red Card you’re aiming for, but all are aimed at evaluating your knowledge of health, safety, and environmental practices in the construction industry. 
Booking the CITB Test is a straightforward process and can be done through the CITB website. It’s essential to book your test well in advance, as spots can fill up quickly.

Test For CSCS Red Card

The test for the CSCS Red Card is designed to ensure you have a good grasp of health and safety practices. All variants of the test assess your understanding of risks, responsibilities, and best practices in the construction industry. Your performance in this construction-related qualification is a key factor in determining your eligibility for the CSCS Red Card, so it’s crucial to prepare thoroughly.

The CSCS Red Card is an outlier among CSCS Cards. Where there are only 1 or 2 types of Black, Gold, Green, Blue and White Cards there are actually 5 different Red Cards. This page will explain the different types of CSCS Red Cards and how to get each one as well as explain the CITB Test for the CSCS Red Card.

Book CITB Test For CSCS Red Card

How do I apply?


Book the CITB Test with us.


Provide proof of your qualification or enrollment on a training programme.


Apply for your CSCS Card.

Book CITB Test For CSCS Red Card

About the CSCS Red Card

The CSCS Red Card is a critical tool for those breaking into the construction industry. With five different types of Red Cards, each designed to suit different levels of expertise and career paths, this card can be a stepping stone to advancing your construction career. Here are each Red CSCS Card options, so you can be sure to test for the correct CSCS Card.
CSCS Red Card – Trainee
CSCS Red Card – Trainee
This card is for people who are in training that is related to the construction industry. CSCS will need to verify that your particular line of study qualifies. The Red Card - Trainee is valid for 5 years and cannot be renewed. Meaning it is expected you will complete your studies within the 5 year period. To obtain this card take the CITB Operatives Test.
CSCS Red Card – Provisional or Temporary Card
CSCS Red Card – Provisional or Temporary Card
This card is usually sought by people who are working through a probationary period or want to try out the construction industry. You can only get the CSCS Red Card - Provisional if you have never had a CSCS Card of any kind before. The Provisional Card is only valid for 6 months and is non-renewable. If you want to obtain this type of card you need to pass the CITB Health, Safety & Environment Operatives Test and then apply for the Red CSCS Provisional Card.
CSCS Red Card – Apprentice
CSCS Red Card – Apprentice
This type of Red Card is for people who have begun an apprenticeship within a recognised framework. The card is valid for 4 years, 6 months and is non-renewable, as it assumes you will finish your apprenticeship within this timeframe. To obtain this card you will need to pass the CITB Operatives or Specialists Test.
CSCS Red Card - Technical, Supervisor or Manager
CSCS Red Card - Technical, Supervisor or Manager
If they have proof of registration into an NVQ/SVQ Level 3 or higher course, Supervisors, Managers and Technical Workers are eligible for the CSCS Red Card - Technical, Supervisor or Manager. You may also need to show a year of on-the-job experience. The card is valid for 3 years and is non-renewable. To obtain it you will need to pass the CITB Specialist, Managers or Professionals Test.
CSCS Red Card – Experienced Worker
CSCS Red Card – Experienced Worker
The Experienced Worker Card is for individuals with at least 1 year of on the job work experience who can also prove enrolment in an NVQ/SVQ Level 2 course or higher. This card expires after 1 year and cannot be renewed. To obtain it you will need to pass the CITB Operatives or Specialists Test.

Frequently Asked Questions:

To book in a CITB HS&E test this can be done instantly here. Sometimes you can get a CITB test booking slot in several days and sometimes it can take longer at busier test centres. You will then need your relevant qualification (if applicable) As long as you have your CITB pass certificate and relevant qualification you can apply for your CSCS Red card and this should arrive with you within 5-10 working days from the date you make your initial application. 

Once you’ve passed your CITB test and submitted your application, it typically takes up to 15 working days for your Red CSCS Card to be processed and sent to you. However, during busy periods, it could take slightly longer, so be sure to apply well in advance of when you need the card.

Any recognised construction-related qualification required for a CSCS Red Card depends on the type of card you’re applying for. For example, for the Apprentice Red Card, you need to be enrolled in a recognised apprenticeship, while for the Experienced Worker Card, you need at least one year of on-the-job experience and enrolment in an NVQ/SVQ Level 2 course or higher.

While it’s possible to work on construction sites without a CSCS Red Card, it’s highly recommended to have one. Many employers require their workers to hold a valid CSCS Card as it assures them of the worker’s understanding of health and safety practices in the construction industry.

Yes, once you’ve gained more experience or additional qualifications, you can apply to upgrade your CSCS Red Card to a card that reflects your new level of expertise, such as the Blue, Gold, or Black CSCS Cards. The requirements for these cards differ, so it’s crucial to check the CSCS website for the most up-to-date information.

The CSCS Red Card is a powerful tool for those in the early stages of their construction careers. By understanding the process of obtaining one, you can set yourself up for success in this dynamic and rewarding industry.

In the unfortunate event that a CSCS Red Card is lost or stolen, CSCS Card holders should immediately report it to the CSCS Contact Centre. The Centre can provide guidance through the process of obtaining a replacement card.

Certain types of CSCS Red Cards, like the Trainee Card, Provisional Card, and Apprentice Card, are non-renewable. This is because they are meant to be stepping stones towards other CSCS Cards that represent higher levels of skill and qualification. Once your Red Card expires, it is expected that you will have advanced in your career and be eligible for a different CSCS Card.

If you fail the CITB Test, you can retake it. However, it’s essential to study and understand the areas where you were deficient to improve your chances of passing the next time. The CITB provides various study resources to help you prepare.

Yes, each type of CSCS Red Card requires a specific CITB test. This ensures that the test taker has the necessary knowledge that correlates with the card type’s specific requirements. Check the CSCS website for more information about the test needed for each card.

Book Your CITB Test

Construction Certification 2024 All Rights Reserved.


Construction Certification is a booking agent that works with the constructions industry. Construction Certification is not part of CSCS or CITB.